The smell of Morocco

There’s nothing like the smell of homemade ras-el-hanout. I discovered this mixture of herbs when my husband bought me a tajine, as a valentine gift two years ago. I’m quite fond of cooking and especially the exotic kind, although I do like a good Belgian recipe or two as well ;-)

Having your own tajine makes up for great cooking. Well, when you get the hang of it that is… I blew my first tajine-dinner by breaking the damn thing because the fire was turned on too hard. After replacing the bottom part of our tajine, I managed to burn the next 6 recipes I tried to make in it. But a couple of weeks ago, I booked succes. Yes, I admit – it took me a while. I’m a perfectionist. I got disencouraged.

But I’m on the roll now. Dinner was great. And you know what the best part of it is? It’s slow food. You get to cook and in the mean time enjoy a good glas of red wine. Or two. Or clean up all the toys your overactive toddler left around the living room. Take a relaxing bath. Read a good book. Talk to your dinner guests. You name it. And the result can be quite stunning…

This particular version was made with beef and a variety of 10 vegetables & abricots for the sweet touch. Add to this that wonderfull smell of ras-el-hanout (I make mine with 11 different spices) and you’ve got a winner.

Guaranteed.

(Recipe for both the ras-el-hanout and the tajine on simple demand :p)

-A.-

Leave a Reply

